Staff Intranet on Codeplex

I have not posted here for a little the main reason being I have been putting the final touches to another project I have been working on in my spare time, it’s a staff intranet application what I have tried to do with this project as with the previous projects is try and use it as a learning exercise, so I have incorporated some best practices and design patterns and used them for a real world example, in there you will find:

  • Inversion of control – This has been decoupled from a particular IoC container but I have utilised Castle Windsor under the hood
  • TDD/BDD – Around 98% of the behaviour of the application was designed test first, the reason I have put BDD as well is because I like to think of my tests as defining the behaviour of the application rather than of just testing assertions in my code, this comes out through the naming of my test cases
  • NHibernate – This was my first use of NHibernate and overall I was very pleased with what this very powerful ORM gives you and also keeping the domain clean from database artifacts (persistence ignorance)
  • Model View Presenter – This is the first time I have emplyed model view presenter for web and it acts as a nice interim between moving logic from the codebehind and going the whole hog and using an MVC framework such as monorail or ASP.NET MVC, I’m completely sold on having tests against the UI logic
  • SQL Server 2005 – This was probably the most dissapointing aspect of developing this application, I was hoping that the new client tools would be great and easy to get stuff done with however I found it the opposite things that used to be easy using the SQL server 2000 enterprise manager were not intuituve at all with the Management Studio, examples:
    • Wanting to remove a database that already exists
    • Setting permissions from the users perspective

Anyway after that intro you can find more details over at my project homepage on codeplex.

My hope is that this project will help others who are learning about the above but would like to see them used in a real world context rather than just in hello worls context.

